2017 National Cyclocross Series Rounds 2 and 3

16 July 2017Cyclocross

The weekend of 15-16 July saw Rounds 2 and 3 of the National Cyclo-Cross Series (NCXS) hosted by the D’Aguilar Range Cycling Club at Baden Powell Park, Samford. DRCC partnered with MTBA in the delivery of the event. Men’s and women’s categories in the NCXS (CX bike only) included Elite, Expert (19-29), Junior (U15, U17 & U19) and Masters 1-8 classes. A new hands-up class (non-NCXS) was added that could be raced on any bike. Kids categories could also be raced on non-CX bikes, including a balance bike category.

Saturday racing involved counter clockwise racing on a 2.7 km course (double pit) with 80% grass, 5% pathway and 5% bare earth. The Sunday course was a similar length and mix of terrain, but was raced in a clockwise direction. The elite women’s Round 2 race on Saturday was won by Kim Hurst with 8 laps in 45:22, while Chris Jongewaard took out the men’s race with 10 laps in 56:59. Sunday’s Round 3 elite race had race, with Kim Hurst riding 7 laps in 43:03 and Chris Jongewaard completing 11 laps in 1:01:35.

Round 4 of the NCXS will be held in Adelaide on 6 August 2017.